I had to upload pictures just to make my Flickr home page less shudder-inducing

YES! I just did a little victory dance because I looked at my geo
syllabus and found out we’re learning about glaciers in today’s
lecture. I think. Unless we’re a day behind in the syllabus? But that
just means we’ll study glaciers on Thursday. Glaciers! Perfect! Because
I spent half my weekend (well, half of the half that wasn’t spent
fretting over spiders) reading about glaciers and trying to understand
them!

Glaciers = earth science + geology + physics + water. I should be
innately *designed* to love glaciers. And– I do. Really. I just also
can’t wrap my brain around them, conceptually. You say "glacier" and I
think "iceberg"; banana, banahna. Is it large? Check. Made of ice?
Check. Capable of preserving an entire wooly mammoth? Check!

Also: yes, that timestamp is accurate, and this is why I sleep most of my weekends away.

2 thoughts on “I had to upload pictures just to make my Flickr home page less shudder-inducing

  1. a) how big is that spider though?
    b) did you really buy a house? I ask b/c i saw your flickr photos! and I haven’t read your blog in a while, but I remember you mentioning the house!

  2. a) With the legs extended, about 2” in diameter. The body was maybe 1.5” long.
    b) yes! And I am going to have an asian pear tree in the backyard! I highly doubt it will survive either our summer or winter, though.

Leave a Reply

